Market Scene Part 2

21 Jun

I found the semi-traditional market at the Sunter neighborhood, North East Jakarta, fascinating.   I deemed it as semi-traditional because it’s not a real traditional market with dirt floor and it’s not a supermarket either.  I have only a vague recollection of going into such market; my duty as a child was to study hard and not be concerned with day-to-day household operation.

This market houses most things and services people need, such as tailors for quick alterations.  Even if it’s a bit shabby, I saw some of the best produce I’ve ever seen.  The fruit stand I saw stocked guavas, papayas, star fruits, mangoes, mangosteen, jambu air (or water guava, the red fruits on the foreground), salak (snake fruits), as well as other well-known tropical fruits.

I took plenty of pictures while trying to be discreet…  I am not sure if people are generally OK with their pictures taken by some random person.  Once I was stopped from taking pictures of a crackers label at a grocery store in Bandung, Indonesia.

5 Responses to “Market Scene Part 2”

  1. Bren June 21, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

    girl, who cares what the floors look like!! the food and offerings are great and you’re in Indonesia!!!! The guava looks yummmmy!

    • SizzleMel June 21, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

      haha! that’s true re: market floors. the vegetables and fruits are exceptional, but i do worry a bit about non-refrigerated fish and meat… but as long as the meat is cooked thoroughly, i think it’s OK.

      • nana December 12, 2010 at 12:52 pm #

        me, di sunter ini, thn 1996 kita terakhir ketemu, wkt itu aku naik angkot bela2in dari kantor aku di kota ke jak utara hanya pengen ketemu kamu.
        tau ga me, setiap udah end of june aku mulai coba untuk cari info ttg kamu,pengen bs ngucapin hpy BDAY, aku bener2 minta maaf sekian lama lost contact ama km.
        me,km pasti udah lupa 3010 yah
        ya udah, yg penting aku cm pengen pastiin km baik2 aja
        km happy…. kerjaan km OK, kapan km sempet km rply email aku ke : nana.wiriadinata@yahoo.com

  2. donuts4dinner September 13, 2010 at 6:17 pm #

    I just had to start following you on Twitter, because I love you for that “no cooking involved”. Eaters-Not-Cookers unite!

  3. Eleanor Hoh (wokstar) August 22, 2011 at 2:44 am #

    I could live inside a food market. Always so much to see and learn about. But you don’t cook? Eat everything raw or out eating all the time?

Leave a Reply

