All Natural Dessert

2 Jun

Durian

Durian. Need I say more?

8 Responses to “All Natural Dessert”

  1. Carla June 3, 2010 at 1:10 am #

    I never had it!! How does it taste? Can we get it here???

    • SizzleMel June 3, 2010 at 2:07 am #

      yes, we can get it in Chinatown. not as fresh, but perhaps better for the uninitiated… some people can’t stand its smell. it’s naturally so creamy.

  2. Janna June 3, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

    Fascinating. Have never had durian before, but would love to try it. Am curious to see if Uwajimaya in Seattle stocks it.

    • SizzleMel June 3, 2010 at 10:22 pm #

      it’s creamy (like milk kind of creamy), which is not what you’d expect from a fruit. when it’s ripe, it’s very pungent and not too many people like the smell. but most imports were picked young. i think it’s great as a dessert flavor (use in moderation).

      perhaps if you can find a durian ice cream, try that first…

  3. forest June 6, 2010 at 10:26 am #

    all right…count me in as another Durian virgin who’s curious to try it. i saw it in chinatown here in Paris a year or so ago…so I’m thinking about getting myself out there to look for it again and this time take the plunge!

    • Amy August 28, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

      I’m another Durian virgin. I’m putting it on my list of things I want to try sooner than later!

  4. plinio September 17, 2010 at 8:03 pm #

    i have not eaten straigh durian yet. i have had ice cream and loved initial taste. the taste that lingered … no so much. someday

    yeah, so i deleted my twitter account. too much drama.

  5. tzakiel August 30, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    I ate this in Sinapore once… not as bad as I thought.

Leave a Reply

